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Ingredient – Things Needed to 
Establish a WRF
• Ability to Take Assignment & Criteria
• A Fund to pay out and deposit into
• Ability to Pay the Worker Before Collecting 
from the Employer



Assignment & Criteria

• Washington: limited to lower income workers.

The Department of Labor and Industries may . . . 
Take assignments of wage claims and prosecute actions for the collection of 
wages of persons who are financially unable to employ counsel when in the 
judgment of the director of the department the claims are valid and enforceable 
in the courts.



Assignment & Criteria – Other 
States
• Most States: Purely discretionary with Dept.

• Kansas: Mandatory assignment for claims under $10k

• Nevada: After “due inquiry”, where the EE 
“financially unable to retain counsel” Labor 
Commissioner can take assignment.

• Alaska: Mandatory assignment part of the claims 
filing process.



Funds – Other State Examples

• Kansas: Wage Claims Assignment Fee Fund 
(attorneys fees, costs, as well as fee recovery 
in assigned claims)

• Hawai’i: Wage Claim Fund. Department takes 
assignment, litigates, deposits all recovery 
(wages, interest, penalties, fees) into fund 
and then disperses to worker.

• Colorado: Wage Theft Fund (penalties).
• Illinois: Wage Theft Enforcement Fund 
(penalties).



Paying Worker Before 
Collecting From ER

California: Industry Focus:

• Garment Workers, 

• Car Wash Workers, and 

• Farm Labor Contractor Workers. 

Payment Made Post Judgment or Admin 
Order



Maine

Wage Assurance Fund.
$200,000 allocation
Pays workers claims where the 
wages are otherwise 
unrecoverable. 
Maximum two weeks of pay
Agency subrogated to claim 
and able to take assignment. 



Oregon
• Wage Security Fund. 
• $200,000 Allocation
• Pays an employee’s meritorious claim for wages where 

the employer has ceased doing business and lacks the 
assets to pay the wages owed to the employee. 

• Limit of $10,000 or limit of fund
• The agency is authorized to bring an action for the 

amount of the payment, and the agency can recover an 
additional 25 percent to be returned to the agency or 
the fund
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